Im BAACK !!

999

1000WOW !! It has been a busy couple of months. In february I was in Costco and found out that I have really high blood pressure. I tested my self on this machine that does, blood pressure, bmi and other health related issues. When I had my son in November I was induced almost three weeks early because he was not gaining weight. They initially thought he would be around 5 or 6 pounds and I was already at 37 weeks. My blood pressure was high, so they put me in the hospital right away to have him. When he was born, he weighed only 4 lbs. It was scary, but he was fine (just a little jaundiced) and he came home with me in the proper time.They almost kept me because of my blood pressure. It finally went down and I was able to go home. I thought the worst was behind me until I took the test at Costco and was shocked. I immediatly called my mom and she told me to make an appointment with my doctor right away. I went in to see him and my blood pressure was still really high. Then he hit me with the dreaded ” we need to put you on blood pressure medication right away”. This hit me like a ton of bricks !! I was thirty seven, breastfeeding and not a fan of “prescritptions” I was hoping that meditation and some rest would be all I needed but that was not the case. It was so hard to give up breastfeeding , that bonding time meant so much to me. The reality was, as my family and so many others said to me ” Continuing to breastfeed is not worth your life if you have a stroke, do it for the kids”. So that began my journey to get myself healthy(er) and to be more aware of my body and the way it operates. I will share with you my journey and how little changes can make a big differences in your life. My starting weight when I went and got tested at the doctor was 187. I started at 160 before I was pregnant and the doc suggested I get down to a healthy weight of 150. So my journey begins !!

Healthy blood pressure levels are lower for children than for adults. The first number is systolic pressure and should be less than 120 in adults over age 20; diastolic pressure is the second number and should be less than 80.

Leave a Reply

